Mark Wasyliw grew up in a family of educators – with both parents teaching in the public school system. He and his partner Jac-lynn Wasyliw, have lived in the Winnipeg School Division’s Ward 3 boundary since 1999. They have three children, their youngest who attends Ecole Robert H. Smith School and a child at Ecole River Heights and one at Ecole Kelvin High School. Jac-lynn is currently completing her education to become a school teacher.

Mark is a successful lawyer and businessman – running the Bueti, Wasyliw, Wiebe Law Firm. Mark holds a B.A. from the University of Manitoba, a Masters Degree in Political Science from McGill University, received his law degree from the University of Ottawa and holds a Masters of Criminal Law from Osgoode Hall Law School. He was called to the Bar in 2000. He has also been a Residential Tenancies Commissioner for the Province of Manitoba since 2009.

Mark was elected as a School Trustee for the old Ward 1 in November 2011 and has since been elected as Vice-Chair of the Winnipeg School Division for 2012-2013 and 2013-2014 school years and Chair of the Board from 2014-2016. He has also been a member of Finance, Public Policy, French Language Advisory, South Winnipeg Advisory, Winnipeg Police Service, Winnipeg Teacher’s Society Committees as well as the Chair of the Building and Transportation Committee.

Mark has volunteered for a variety of organizations including the Robert H. Smith Parent Advisory Group, Robert H. Smith Academic Support Committee, Association in Defence of the Wrongfully Convicted, Manitoba Children’s Festival, and as a coach at the Corydon Comets Football Club.

About Ward 3

In December 2013 the Board of the Winnipeg School Division voted to change the Ward System to one trustee per Ward. The new Ward includes the communities of North River Heights, Crescentwood, Earl Grey, Fort Rouge, Osborne Village West

Ward 3 includes the following schools:

– Carpathia (N-6)
– Earl Grey (N-8)
– Gladstone (N-6)
– Grosvenor (N-6)
– Kelvin (9-12)
– LaVérendrye (N-6)
– Queenston (N-6)
– River Heights (7-8)
– Robert H. Smith (N-6)

The boundaries of the new Ward 3 are: 

From Corydon Ave, north along Kenaston Blvd to Assiniboine River, east along Assiniboine River to the property border between 231 and 237 Wellington Cr, east between 231 and 237 Wellington Cr, north on Wellington Cr to Wardlaw Ave, east on Wardlaw Ave to Daly St N, south along Daly St N to Gertrude Ave, east along Gertrude Ave to Osborne St, south on Osborne St but not including properties on Osborne St to McMillan Ave, west along McMillan Ave to Nassau St N, south on Nassau St N but not including properties on Nassau St N to Corydon Ave, east along Corydon Ave to Pembina Hwy, north along Pembina Hwy to Osborne St, south along Osborne St to CNR Mainline, south west along CNR Mainline to extension of Stafford St, west along extension of Stafford St to Pembina Hwy, north along Stafford St to Dorchester Ave, west along Dorchester Ave to Cambridge St, south along Cambridge St to Corydon Ave, west along Corydon Ave to Kenaston Blvd.